Skip to content
Auburn Auto Group (banner)
Home » Sports » College » William Smith Herons » Daniels’ 100th goal powers #7 Herons to title game

Daniels’ 100th goal powers #7 Herons to title game

  • / Updated:
  • Kyle Evans 

The seventh-ranked William Smith lacrosse team knocked off Union 13-3 in a Liberty League semifinal on Boswell Field at David J Urick Stadium this afternoon. With the win, the Herons advanced to the championship game for the eighth straight year.

Sophomore Natalie Daniels led the Herons with five goals and five points. She also had a game-high six draw controls. Senior Maddie Montgomery had a hat trick while recording three caused turnovers and three ground balls.  Senior Molly Davis had five draw controls. First-year Janey Sypeck led the Herons’ defense with four caused turnovers. Junior Maura Smeader played all 60 minutes in goal and made 10 saves. The Herons defense limited Union to its season-low three goals.

Three different players scored a goal for the Garnet Chargers. Greta Mauer had two draw controls, two caused turnovers and three ground balls to lead Union. Sydney Widlitz played all 60 minutes in goal and made nine saves.


  • William Smith is now 17-2 overall on the season.
  • Union ends their season with an 11-6 record.


  • William Smith finished the game with a 31-18 advantage in shots and a 14-5 edge in the draw circle.
  • Union won the groundball battle 22-18.
  • William Smith was 19-for-23 clearing the ball and Union was 20-for-24.


  • With her five goals today, Daniels became the 29th player in program history to record her 100th career goal. She scored the milestone goal in highlight-reel fashion spinning around a defender and firing a shot past Widlitz while falling to the ground.
  • Maddie Montgomery (67) and Natalie Daniels (61) are the first William Smith duo to score 60-plus goals in a season since Jennifer Bertsch ’95 and Amy Hoover ’95 had 61 and 60 goals, respectively in 1994.


  • With three points today, Allie McGinty extended her point streak to 62 games.
  • William Smith has won a nation’s best 40 consecutive games at home.


  • William Smith jumped out to a 4-0 lead just before the seven-minute mark of the first quarter. Senior Molly Davis opened the scoring with her 28th goal of the year. Just over a minute later, Daniels fired home a free position shot for her 57th goal of the year. With 10 minutes left in the opening frame, McGinty beat Widlitz on a free position shot for her 26th goal of the year. Montgomery gave William Smith a 4-0 lead with 8:02 left in the first quarter.
  • Union rounded out the first quarter when Hannah Compa collected a feed from Maddy Schiller and fired home her 15th goal of the year with 2 seconds left.
  • Daniels scored the next two goals to give William Smith a 6-1 lead early in the second quarter. They were her 58th and 59th goals of the season. Both goals were unassisted.
  • With 5:21 left in the first half, Dana Nelson scored on a free position attempt to make it 6-2, but that would be as close as the Garnet Chargers would get.
  • William Smith used a four-goal run to take a 10-2 lead with 10 minutes left in the third quarter. First-year Kira Fulton started the run with her eighth career goal. Nineteen seconds later Montgomery scored her 66th goal of the year. With 1:05 left in the half, Daniels pocketed her 60th goal of the year. The unassisted tally was the 100th of her career. The goal gave William Smith a 9-2 lead at the break.
  • Daniels added her fifth goal of the game five minutes into the third quarter. Her 61st tally was assisted by McGinty.
  • Lana Mickelson scored her 14th goal of the year on a free position attempt to make it 10-3.
  • With 90 seconds left in the frame, junior Katherine Murray picked up her 22nd goal off a feed from senior Emily Griffin.
  • Montgomery concluded her hat trick 65 seconds into the fourth quarter. McGinty then rounded out the scoring with her 27th goal with 3:17 left in regulation.

William Smith will be back in action on Sunday at 1 p.m. The Herons will take on Ithaca at 1 p.m. at Higgins Stadium. This will be the sixth straight season that the Herons and Bombers will meet for the conference championship.