Skip to content
DiSanto Propane (Banner)
Home » Sports » Yankees’ Gerrit Cole wins AL Cy Young Award

Yankees’ Gerrit Cole wins AL Cy Young Award

  • / Updated:
  • Kyle Evans 

New York Yankees starting pitcher Gerrit Cole was named the 2023 American League Cy Young Award winner on Wednesday night for the first time in his career.

Cole beat out Toronto’s Kevin Gausman and Minnesota’s Sonny Gray for the award, but the voting was not close. He received all 30 first-place votes, earning a unanimous selection.

The right-hander made 33 starts, pitching to a 2.63 ERA and 0.981 WHIP in 209 innings, all of which led the league. He also struck out 222 batters, the fourth-most in baseball.

Cole is the sixth player in Yankees history to earn the award, joining Roger Clemens (2001), Ron Guidry (1978), Sparky Lyle (1977), Whitey Ford (1961), and Bob Hurley (1958).