Skip to content
Home » Wayne County » Savannah » Montezuma offers free summer paddle excursions: When are they happening? How to sign-up?

Montezuma offers free summer paddle excursions: When are they happening? How to sign-up?

  • / Updated:
  • Staff Report 

This summer, the Montezuma Audubon Center invites you to explore the Erie Canal on free paddle excursions every Friday and Saturday in July and August. These one-mile paddles offer a chance to see local wildlife, including Bald Eagles, Great Blue Herons, and Belted Kingfishers.

No experience is needed, and all equipment is provided. Participants will receive basic kayak instruction, and adaptive equipment is available. The paddles start at Rivers Crossing Campground and Marina in Savannah, N.Y., and are open to everyone aged 12 and older. Children under 16 must be with an adult.

Excursions are funded by the New York State Canal Corporation. Space is limited, so registration is required. To reserve your spot, visit ny.audubon.org/montezuma-programs-and-events.

Excursion Dates and Times:

  • Saturday, July 6 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, July 12 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, July 13 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, July 19 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, July 20 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, July 26 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, July 27 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, August 2 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, August 3 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, August 9 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, August 10 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, August 16 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, August 17 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, August 23 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, August 24 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Friday, August 30 @ 10am and 2pm
  • Saturday, August 31 @ 10am and 2pm