Skip to content
DiSanto Propane (Banner)
Home » Sports » College » Hobart Statesmen » Sessions wins Carl Van Duy

Sessions wins Carl Van Duy

Hobart College senior sailor Nick Sessions claimed the Carl Van Duyne Trophy in Kings Point, New York this weekend winning the Middle Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association Men’s Singlehanded Championship. He is the first Statesman to win the Carl Van Duyne Trophy.

With Sessions’ victory, Hobart and William Smith has now won 17 MAISA Championships since 1996. He joins Arielle deLisser ’14 as the only HWS sailors to win a MAISA singlehanded championship. She won the Faye Bennet Trophy, the MAISA Women’s Singlehanded Championship, twice.

In addition to Sessions, Nico Garcia-CastrillonOwen Harrod and Jack Carter competed in the conference championship regatta. HWS was also in action at the Women’s ACC Eliminations and the Danmark Trophy.


  • Fourteen races were contested on the weekend with 10 on Saturday in winds of five to 12 knots. Today, sailors were tested with a light 3-7 knot breeze, completeing four additional races.
  • Sessions compiled 60 points on the weekend, defeating Hampton’s Valerio Palamara by four points. Georgetown’s Benjamin Smith, who was third, was 23 points behind Sessions.
  • Sessions was in the top 10 in every race, notching three wins and seven top-three finishes.
  • It was Sessions’ third time completing the regatta in the top five.
  • Garcia-Castrillon was 11th, compiling 141 points on the weekend. He had six top-10 finishes and won the 10th race.
  • Harrod and Carter were 16th and 18th, respectively. Harrod had 176 points and Carter had 215 points.


  • William Smith sailors were in St. Mary’s City, Maryland, for the Women’s ACC Eliminations. Seventeen races were contested.
  • Ten races in each division were completed on Saturday in 5-10 knot winds. On Sunday, seven additional races were sailed in sunny and shifty conditions.
  • The Herons finished 13th out of 17 teams with 366 points.
  • Elizabeth Starck and Anna McBride represented William Smith in B Division, placing 11th with 167 points. They crossed the line in the top 10 in nine races.
  • Heather KernsBrook Wood and Valyn Mogensen sailed in A Division. They were 12th with 199 points. Kerns, Wood and Mogensen combined for seven top-10 finishes.


  • Fourteen races were contested in each division at the Danmark Trophy in New London, Connecticut.
  • The Colleges placed 16th out of 20 teams, compiling 356 points.
  • HWS finished 13th in B Division with 154 points. Juan Carlos LaCerda Jones competed as skipper with Rachel Duggan and Cooper Delbridge, sailing as crew. They crossed the line in the top 10 six times.
  • Will MurrayFrances Depke and Robert Breslin represented the Colleges in A Division. They were 18th with 202 points.

HWS will be back in action next weekend, Oct. 7-8 for the ACC Dinghy Eliminations in Kings Point, New York.