Skip to content
Home » Seneca County » Seneca County Appoints New Department Heads

Seneca County Appoints New Department Heads

  • / Updated:
  • Staff Report 

Seneca County has appointed five new department heads, primarily due to retirements. Michael Whirtley is the new commissioner of Social Services, following Tracy VanVleck’s resignation. Whirtley had been the interim commissioner since December 2023.

Arthur James III will become county attorney on July 1, succeeding the retiring David Ettman. James, from Canandaigua, is currently an assistant county attorney for Ontario County.

Other appointments include Jule Bub as county finance director, Daniel Schmalzel as director of water and sewer services, and Thomas Kernoschak as sealer of weights and measures.