Skip to content
DiSanto Propane (Banner)
Home » Sports » College » Hobart Statesmen » REPEAT!!! Hobart captures 2nd straight DIII Hockey National Championship

REPEAT!!! Hobart captures 2nd straight DIII Hockey National Championship

  • / Updated:
  • Digital Team 

The top-ranked Hobart Statesmen hockey program clinched a decisive 2-0 victory over third-ranked Trinity, to claim the NCAA Division III men’s hockey championship for the second consecutive year.

Photo by Kevin Colton

Sophomore goaltender Damon Beaver exhibited stellar performance, thwarting all 25 shots directed at him to claim his seventh shutout of the season, matching his own Hobart season record from the previous year.

Facing off against Hobart’s formidable offense, Bantams’ goalie Devon Bobak displayed commendable resilience, fending off 32 shots and keeping Trinity competitive throughout the game.

Hobart’s triumph marks a historic feat, as they become the first team since St. Norbert in 2011 and 2012 to secure consecutive national championships in Division III men’s ice hockey.

The Statesmen’s dominance extends beyond their championship victory, boasting a 14-game winning streak, matching a program record, and an unbeaten run of 25 games, tying for the 10th longest streak in Division III history. Notably, their defensive prowess shines through as they successfully killed off 92 of their opponents’ 95 power plays this season, setting a new NCAA record.

With 28 wins this season, Hobart solidifies their position as a powerhouse in Division III men’s ice hockey, with their 13 shutouts matching an NCAA Division III record.

The clash between the top goaltenders in the country unfolded as expected, with Bobak and Baver showcasing their skills throughout the game. However, it was a pivotal play by Jonah Alexander that broke the deadlock, setting up Aquaro’s milestone 100th career point goal, a testament to his prowess on the ice.

Iasenza sealed the deal with an empty-net goal in the waning seconds of the game, securing victory for Hobart and adding to the celebration of their remarkable achievement.

In recognition of their performances, senior Austin Mourar was named the tournament’s most outstanding player, with junior Luke Aquaro, sophomore Tanner Hartman, and Beaver earning well-deserved spots on the all-tournament team.

Check out the full championship game replay here: