Seven local residents graduate from State Police Academy

Seven local residents are among the 227 new State Troopers who recently graduated from the 210th session of the Basic School of the New York State Police Academy.

Governor Kathy Hochul congratulated the Troopers at a ceremony on Wednesday, March 23 at the Empire Plaza Convention Center in Albany.

The following is a list of new State Troopers from the Finger Lakes region:

Cayuga County: James Edmunds of Auburn

Livingston County: Luis Martinez-Perez of Mt. Morris

Ontario County: Matthew Petrosino of Geneva

Steuben County: Trenten Merrill of Hornell; Kiersten Hafer of Corning; Madison Sharp of Canisteo

Wayne County: Eric Wellington of Wolcott

“These men and women we welcome into the New York State Police today have worked and trained extremely hard for six months and have dedicated themselves to protecting the people of New York State,” said Hochul, according to a press release. “I commend these new Troopers for their commitment to public service and making our state a safer place for those who live, work and travel through New York. I wish them luck as they start their careers and continue the 105-year-long tradition of the New York State Police.”

Get the latest headlines delivered to your inbox each morning. Sign up for our Morning Edition to start your day. FL1 on the Go! Download the free App for Android (All Android Devices) or iOS (iPhone, iPad).