This Sunday, Nov. 7, our clocks will go back one hour at 2 a.m.
There’s the extra hour of sleep for many, but there are also other rules that need to be followed, especially for drivers.
Dusk will be happening earlier now and people need to remember to turn on their headlights when they didn’t need to before.
The fines vary by state but can run from $130 to $200. It is considered a moving violation and some states require attending traffic school.
Hawaii and Arizona are safe, they do not change their clocks.
Neither does Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa or the Northern Marina Islands.
19 states altogether have passed laws to make daylight saving time the standard time. Federal law doesn’t allow for daylight saving time, but the Sunshine Protection Act of 2021 could change that.
Daylight saving time was first used in Canada in 1908. Germany began it April 30, 1916 to save coal. The U.S. began it in 1966 to save energy.
FingerLakes1.com is the region’s leading all-digital news publication. The company was founded in 1998 and has been keeping residents informed for more than two decades. Have a lead? Send it to [email protected]