Multiple states sue President Joe Biden’s administration over national COVID-19 vaccine mandate

Three lawsuits were filed Friday on behalf of 18 states to stop President Joe Biden’s mandate that would force federal contractors to get the vaccine. The lawsuit argues that it’s a violation of federal law.

States for one lawsuit include Alaska, Arkansas, Iowa, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming. That lawsuit was filed in federal court in Missouri. A second lawsuit includes Georgia, Alabama, Idaho, Kansas, South Carolina, Utah and West Virginia. Their lawsuit was filed in federal court in Georgia. A third lawsuit was filed by Texas individually.

They asked that the requirement for federal contractors to be vaccinated by Dec. 8 be blocked.

Biden says the mandate will help bring a safer and quicker end to the pandemic that’s been going on for almost two years.

States are also saying they will challenge OSHA’s rules that would mandate vaccines for companies with 100 or more employees.

Related: President Joe Biden’s vaccine mandate is expected to cause major issues in the workforce

Get the latest headlines delivered to your inbox each morning. Sign up for our Morning Edition to start your day. FL1 on the Go! Download the free App for Android (All Android Devices) or iOS (iPhone, iPad).