An extra hour of sleep is coming for millions on Nov. 7 when the clocks jump back from 2 a.m. to 1 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 7.
But that also means overnight workers will have to work an additional hour.
Hawaii and Arizona are two states that do not recognize daylight saving time. Navajo Nation in Arizona does recognize it though.
Most people stuck working that extra hour should get paid for it. According to the Fair Labor Standards Act employees are required to be paid for every hour worked.
If this brings someone’s total to 41 hours, they may be paid an hour of overtime.
If you are on a salary, you may not get that extra hour of pay.
The only exception to that is if the hour pushes equivalent hourly wage below $7.25, the federal minimum.
Bring the question up to your employer just to be sure, and be aware of the wording in your employee contract.
FingerLakes1.com is the region’s leading all-digital news publication. The company was founded in 1998 and has been keeping residents informed for more than two decades. Have a lead? Send it to [email protected].