There is a new law active on the waters of New York State since New Years Day passed.
Even though many won’t be on the water for another several months, when the weather breaks, Brianna’s Law took hold when the calendar turned to 2020.
It’s a major change for boat owners.
The law is named in honor of an 11-year-old girl from Long Island who died in a tragic boating accident fifteen years ago.
As of January 1, New York State is requiring boaters who operate watercraft with engines to take and pass a boater safety course. The course is eight hours long. It can be taken in two ways.
– Two four-hour sessions; or
– Four two-hour sessions.
The fine if you don’t complete the course? Officials say it will cost $200 if fined under the new law.
To have the latest delivered to your smartphone or tablet – download the FingerLakes1.com App for Android and iOS. Follow the links below to download the app now! – Android (All Android Devices) – iOS (iPhone, iPad)
This content is brought to you by the FingerLakes1.com Team. Support our mission by visiting www.patreon.com/fl1 or learn how you send us your local content here.