Skip to content
Home » Chance The Rapper » Sabres to retire Ryan Miller’s No. 30 next season

Sabres to retire Ryan Miller’s No. 30 next season

The Buffalo Sabres announced Friday that the team will honor former goaltender Ryan Miller during the 2022-23 season by inducting him into the Sabres Hall of Fame and retiring his No. 30.

The date for Miller’s induction and number retirement ceremony will be announced this summer after the NHL announces next season’s schedule.

Miller will become the seventh player and second goalie in Sabres history to have his number hang from the KeyBank Center rafters. He will join Gilbert Perreault (No. 11), Rick Martin (No. 7), Rene Robert (No. 14), Tim Horton (No. 2), Danny Gare (No. 18), Pat LaFontaine (No. 16), and Dominik Hasek (No. 39).

DiSanto Propane (Billboard)

The 41-year-old will become the 43rd member of the Sabres Hall of Fame and the first inductee since Hasek in 2014.

Miller is first on the franchise’s all-time list in games played by a goalie (540) and wins (284) and is second behind only Dominik Hasek in shutouts (28).

His best season came in 2009-10, when he won the Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s best goaltender, finished fourth in Hart Trophy voting, and won Olympic silver with Team USA. In 2006 and 2007, he backstopped the Sabres to back-to-back Eastern Conference Finals — with the team winning the President’s Trophy in 2007 as well.