Nurses, Tech, and CNAs of the Year named by Thompson

At a ceremony held May 12, the birthday of Florence Nightingale, UR Medicine Thompson Health honored several of its nurses, patient care technicians and certified nursing assistants (CNAs).

Caitlin Bonanni, BSN, RN-BC, of Shortsville, was named F.F. Thompson Hospital’s Nurse of the Year as well as its Nurse of Distinction in the category of Preceptor/Mentor. Vatha Jensen of Fairport was named the hospital’s Technician of Distinction, and the following were named the hospital’s Nurses of Distinction, in the categories noted:

  • Khristeen Sproul, BSN, RN, CEN, of Canandaigua, for Commitment
  • Alexandria Lovejoy, BSN, BSPH, RN, of Canandaigua, for Action
  • Bambi Barnard-Talley, BSN, RN, of Bloomfield, for Respect
  • Amber Fulmer, BSN, RN-BC, of Middlesex, for Excellence
  • Kellie Mack, BSN, RN, of Canandaigua, for Service
  • Holly Fitzpatrick, BSN, RN, of Shortsville, for Rising Star
  • Amy Hull, FNP-C, of Rushville, for Advance Practice Provider

Thompson also honored several individuals from Long-Term Care. The following Long-Term Care staff members were named Nurses of Distinction, in the categories noted:

  • Christina Johnson, LPN, of Canandaigua, for Commitment
  • Calvin Battle, LPN, of West Bloomfield, for Action
  • Maria Rosa-Vargas, BSN, RN, of Honeoye Falls, for Respect
  • Andrew Baader, LPN, of Naples, for Excellence
  • Claire Lockwood, LPN, of Shortsville, for Service
  • Cassie Ordiway, LPN, of Gorham, for Rising Star
  • Holly McClain, LPN, of Canandaigua, for Preceptor/Mentor

The following were named Long-Term Care CNAs of Distinction for 2022, in the categories noted:

  • Kaitlyn McCormick, CNA, of Canandaigua, for Commitment
  • Melissa Thran, CNA, of Clifton Springs, for Action
  • Rebecca Natoli, CNA, of Manchester, for Respect
  • Amber Lane, CNA, of Manchester, for Excellence
  • Judy Cepeda, CNA, of Manchester, for Service
  • Faith Searls, CNA, of Canandaigua, for Rising Star
  • Tammy Crooke, CNA, of Waterloo, for Preceptor/Mentor

Also during the ceremony, Thompson named Social Work as its Department of Distinction for 2022.

Get the latest headlines delivered to your inbox each morning. Sign up for our Morning Edition to start your day. FL1 on the Go! Download the free App for Android (All Android Devices) or iOS (iPhone, iPad).