Yates County Legislature chooses first woman chair in its 50 year history

The Yates County Legislature has chosen the first woman chair in its 50 year history.

The Chronicle-Express reports District 3 legislator Leslie Church, who represents Milo, was elected 8-6 over incumbent Douglas Paddock, who represents Italy, Jerusalem and Middlesex in District 1. Casting votes for Paddock were Legislators Dan Banach, Ed Bronson, Tim Cutler, Dick Harper, Bill Holgate, and Paddock. Casting votes for Church were Legislators Terry Button, Carlie Chilson, newly elected Jessie Jayne and Mark Morris, Patrick Killen, Bonnie Percy, Rick Willson, and Church.

Ed Bronson was chosen as vice chair on a second vote after the first ended in a 7-7 tie, with Bronson and Rick Willson each voting for the other.

With the choice of Church as chair, all the top administrative positions in Yates County are held by women, including County Clerk Lois Hall, County Administrator/Budget Officer Nonie Flynn, County Treasurer Marsha Devine, and County Finance Director Jessica Mullins.

Get the latest headlines delivered to your inbox each morning. Sign up for our Morning Edition to start your day. FL1 on the Go! Download the free FingerLakes1.com App for Android (All Android Devices) or iOS (iPhone, iPad).