Skip to content
Home » Valentine's Day » How much paid sick leave do you get under New York State law?

How much paid sick leave do you get under New York State law?

Does paid sick leave roll over?

That was a question posed in Monday’s Good Question segment by News10NBC in Rochester after a new law went on the books to require employers to provide paid sick leave to its workforce.

The answer is that ‘yes’ paid sick leave can rollover, but it doesn’t have to be paid out to individuals if it isn’t used and there are still limits on total annual usage.


Overall, paid sick leave is developed around the size of a company.

Here’s how the regulations for paid sick leave break down:

  • Employers with 100 or more employees must provide up to 56 hours of paid sick leave per calendar year.
  • Employers with 5 to 99 employees must provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per calendar year.
  • Employers with 4 or fewer employees and net income of greater than $1 million in the previous tax year are required to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per calendar year.
  • Employers with 4 or fewer employees and net income is $1 million or less in the previous tax year are required to provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave per calendar year.

Check out more of News10NBC’s report by clicking here.


Top