Skip to content
DiSanto Propane (Banner)
Home » Valentine's Day » Cuomo rep blasts bill to split New York into three, self-governing regions

Cuomo rep blasts bill to split New York into three, self-governing regions

A proposal has reached the New York State Legislature to split the state into three regions.

Each region would have its own governors and legislators – and the bill also divides up the various agencies and departments. Each region would have a separate court and prison system, too.

The three autonomous areas would be the New York Region, Montauk Region, and New Amsterdam Region.

Finger Lakes Partners (Billboard)

The bill is sponsored by Assemblyman David DiPietro of the 147th Assembly District – which covers a portion of Wyoming County – and co-sponsored by Peter Lawrence of the 134th State Assembly District and Brian Manktelow of the 130th Assembly District.

Assembly members Marjorie Byrnes, Stephen Hawley and Brian Kolb are listed as multi-sponsors.

The State Senate version of the bill is sponsored by Senator Rob Ortt of the 62nd District. Co-sponsors include Senators George Borrello, Pam Helming, Daphne Jordan, Michael Ranzenhofer and Thomas O’Mara.

This new bill would create a constitutional amendment to divide the state. This would make all three regions part of the state, but give each autonomy apart from the others.

Divide New York’s Western New York coordinator, Richard Bitter, Jr., says regions would get what they put into the system.

“We would become a more free people, able to decide our destiny, rather than somebody who lives on the corner of Park and 71st, who’s never seen a live cow,” he said.

A spokesman for Governor Andrew Cuomo issued the following statement about the proposal:

“The fact that small politicians are once again pushing this un-serious, ignorant and pander-filled press release of a bill may be the surest sign yet that things are getting back to normal. But still, stay smart, socially distance, wear a mask and wash your hands.”