Skip to content
Auburn Auto Group (banner)
Home » Life » Events » Auburn NAACP branch honors commitment to community

Auburn NAACP branch honors commitment to community

Several people were honored for making their mark on the community at the 20th annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Millennium Awards Luncheon in Auburn Friday.

Robert Ellison, Deacon Shavonn Lynch, Kasha Fletcher, Brian Muldrow and Deacon Nicholas Valvo were honored at an event hosted by the Auburn/Cayuga branch of the NAACP. Former branch president and Auburn businesswoman and activist Gwen Webber-McLeod was also inducted into the branch’s hall of fame. Current branch president Eli Hernandez said each person was being recognized for their “unwavering commitment to our community” and their efforts in pursuing equality for all.

“I cherish you, and I adore you,” NAACP member Rhoda Overstreet-Wilson said while introducing Webber-McLeod. “You are a mentor to many in this community and serve as a role model in central New York to women who are in leadership positions. I’m telling you, your legacy is built. You are walking in it. Thank you so much for being who you are.”

The crowd responded with a standing ovation.

The Auburn Citizen:
Read More