Skip to content
Home » Ontario County » Kellyanne Conway, Lee Zeldin headline 104th Federation of Republican Women’s Gala

Kellyanne Conway, Lee Zeldin headline 104th Federation of Republican Women’s Gala

Former Congressman and Gubernatorial candidate Lee Zeldin and Former Counselor to President Trump Kellyanne Conway were the keynote speakers at the 104th Annual Conference and Gala of the New York State Federation of Republican Women (NYSFRW).

Welcoming more than 300 people, this year’s conference was held April 30 – May 1 at the Crowne Plaza – the Desmond Hotel in Albany.  

DiSanto Propane (Billboard)

With a theme of “Standing for Liberty”, the Federation elected the 2023-2024 slate of officers, swearing in Trisha Turner (President), Lydia Biskup (1st Vice President), Christine Benedict (2nd Vice President), Heather Scribner (3rd Vice President), Allison Barkowski, (Corresponding Secretary), Mary Alice Panek (Recording Secretary) and Past President Kim Bowers (Treasurer).

NYSFRW President Turner also serves as the Upstate Vice Chair of the New York State Republican Committee and the Chair of the Ontario County Republican Committee.

Legislative officials and former candidates for office speaking at the event included NYGOP Chair Ed Cox, Senate Republican Leader Rob Ortt, Congressmen Marc Molinaro and Brandon Williams, Senators Pamela Helming, George Borrello, Patricia Canzoneri-Fitzpatrick, Assemblywomen Mary Beth Walsh, Marjorie Byrnes, Jodi Giglio, and former Congressmen John Faso and Joe Sempolinski. 

Former statewide candidates for office Alison Esposito, Michael Henry, and Joe Pinion spoke about the election gains made in NYC and throughout the state.  

Other topics included the recruitment of female candidates, and the empowerment, strength and success of women in the Federation who are serving their communities and successfully electing candidates to office. 

Speakers addressed the theme of standing for Liberty. Former Congressional candidate La’Ron Singletary addressed the crime issue impacting elections in traditional blue areas.  Spencer Carr, Deputy Chief of Staff for Congresswoman Claudia Tenney, Brian Larkin of McLaughlin & Associates and Bobbie Anne Flower Cox were also featured speakers.

The New York State Federation Woman of the Year Award is offered each year and is named in honor of Henrietta Wells Livermore, a leader in the women’s suffrage movement. This year’s award was presented to Theresa Hoffman from the Dutchess County Women’s Republican Club. 

Theresa is an outstanding and dedicated leader who has faithfully served the NYSFRW in a variety of roles, including her local women’s club and the Dutchess County Republican Committee as an officer. She exemplifies an outstanding Republican woman who has made a huge difference through service and leadership.

The recipients of the Legislative Women in Leadership Award are Congresswoman Nicole Malliotakis, Assemblywoman Marjorie Byrnes and former Senator Sue Serino.

The Millenium Scholarship Recipients are Tessa Harris-Chwiecko of Canandaigua, who will graduate from Canandaigua Academy and attend SUNY Geneseo this fall, and Emma Watkiss, who will graduate from Wappingers Falls, Dutchess County, and attend the State University of Albany this fall. 

The following Clubs were recognized for their exceptional community service: 

Campaign Volunteer Hours – Monroe County Federation of Republican Women 

Caring for America – Erie County Federation of Republican Women and the Women’s Republican Club of Fulton County 

Armed Services Award – Putnam County Republican Women’s Club and the Genesee County Women’s Republican Club 

Top Membership Awards – Westchester County Women’s Republican Club and the Broome County Republican Women’s Club 

Increased Membership Award – Ontario County Women’s Republican Club 

The New York State Federation of Republican Women encompasses all 62 New York Counties, informing and involving Republican women and providing grassroots support of the Republican Party, its candidates and elected officials throughout the state. Many of our members are candidates and elected officials, most receiving their political knowledge and experience through their involvement in Federated clubs.