Disaster aid is available to areas badly damaged by Tropical Storm Fred

Federal disaster aid has been given to New York State to help communities impacted by Tropical Storm Fred.

The funding is available for state and local governments that are eligible as well as certain private nonprofit organizations.

Counties that may be eligible for funding through organizations and governments include Allegany, Cayuga, Cortland, Lewis, Oneida, Steuben, Tioga and Yates counties.

The funding is available on a cost-sharing basis.

Lai Sun Yee has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Get the latest headlines delivered to your inbox each morning? Sign up for our Morning Edition to start your day. FL1 on the Go! Download the free FingerLakes1.com App for Android (All Android Devices) or iOS (iPhone, iPad).