Skip to content
Home » Ontario County » Canandaigua » Discover Canandaigua’s History with Walking Tour of Historic Bars

Discover Canandaigua’s History with Walking Tour of Historic Bars

  • / Updated:
  • Staff Report 

Take a step back in time with a unique walking tour of Canandaigua’s historic bars and restaurants. Led by Benjamin Falter, the director of education for the Ontario County Historical Society, the tour explores the rich history of local watering holes and their significance during the Prohibition era.

Flannigan’s Restaurant, opened in 1866 by John Flannigan, was a popular spot known for its oysters and drinks. Flannigan played a key role in making Canandaigua a city to avoid the temperance laws that threatened local businesses. The tour highlights iconic spots like Peacemaker Brewing Co. and Green Front Restaurant, revealing stories of old taverns and speakeasies.

Tours are free but donations are welcome. They begin at Ontario County Park, across from Canandaigua City Hall. Upcoming dates include June 22, June 28, July 19, August 2, August 10, and August 16. For more information, visit www.ochs.org.