Skip to content
DiSanto Propane (Banner)
Home » Sports » College » Hobart Statesmen » Hobart wins 4th Liberty League Championship

Hobart wins 4th Liberty League Championship

  • / Updated:
  • Kyle Evans 

The Hobart College soccer team defeated Ithaca College 4-1 to capture the 2023 Liberty League Tournament Title on Cozzens Field this afternoon. It was Hobart’s fourth conference championship.
This is the first time that the Statesmen have won the league’s regular season and tournament titles since 2017.  With today’s victory, Hobart earned the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA tournament, making their ninth tirp to the dance. The last time Hobart appeared in the NCAA tournament since 2019.
Frederick Madsen, who was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Performer, led Hobart with a goal and an assist in today’s game. Senior goalie Guillermo Castañeda Chang played 90 minutes in goal and made one save. He also had an assist on Madsen’s goal.
Brendan Lebitsch scored the goal for Ithaca. Johannes Beghahn and Ian Whitfield shared the minutes in goal for the Bombers, combining for two saves.



  • Hobart is now 12-5-2 on the year.
  • Since starting the year 1-4-1 against a tough slate of out of conference games, the Statesmen have turned things winning 11 of their last 13 games. 
  • Ithaca concludes its season with an 8-6-3 overall record.


  • Hobart finished the game with a 17-6 advantage in shots, including a 7-2 edge in shots on goal.


  • La Zai Outerbridge opened the scoring in the 52nd minute. He collected a pass from Madsen at the top of the 18-yard box and slipped a shot into the lower left corner of the cage. It was Outerbridge’s fourth goal of the season.
  • In the 63rd minute, Quinn Phillips scored what would prove to be the game-winning goal. He cleaned up a loose ball in the 18-yard box and fired a shot off of the right goal post and into the back of the net. It was Phillips’ fourth goal of the season.
  • Madsen put the game out of reach with his ninth goal of the season. In the 73rd minute, he collected a long looping pass from Castañeda Chang, dribbled around the Ithaca goalie and chipped a shot into the back of the net. It was Castañeda Chang’s first collegiate point.
  • Brendan Lebitsch broke up the shutout bid in the 85th minute. He ran onto a Gustav Bauerle leading pass and slipped a shot past Castañeda Chang for his second goal of the year.
  • In the 89th minute, Kasper notched his second goal of the year. Marcelo Suarez was awarded an assist on the strike.


  • Madsen was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Performer. He had two goals and an assist in two games, including the game-winning in overtime goal on Friday afternoon.
  • Madsen has had goals in seven straight and eight of the last nine games.


The 64-team NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Championship field will be revealed during a selection show on beginning at 2 p.m. Monday, Nov. 6. The Statesmen are in as one of  41 automatic qualifiers. The semifinals and championship matches are scheduled to be played at Roanoke College’s Kerr Stadium in Salem, Virginia, on Dec. 1 and Dec. 3.