Skip to content
Home » Sports » College » Hobart Statesmen » Hobart hockey wins first National Championship

Hobart hockey wins first National Championship

  • / Updated:
  • Kyle Evans 

For the first time in school history, the Hobart hockey team has captured a National Championship.

The second-ranked Statesmen edged third-ranked Adrian 3-2 in overtime on Sunday night at Raymond J. Bourque Arena on the campus of Endicott College.

After blowing a 2-0 lead, sophomore Wil Crane scored the game-winner for Hobart at 14:56 in overtime.

Sophomore Luke Aquaro led the Statesmen with a goal and an assist. First-year Damon Beaver made a career-high 37 saves and was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

Hobart finished the season with 29 wins, a program record.