Skip to content

Bills release 17 players to set initial 53-man roster

The Buffalo Bills made the following roster moves Tuesday to set their initial 53-man roster for the 2022 season:

Released: QB Matt Barkley, OL Greg Mancz, OL Luke Tenuta, OL Alec Anderson, RB Raheem Blackshear, RB Duke Johnson, WR Tanner Gentry, WR Isiah Hodgins, TE O.J. Howard, DE Mike Love, DE Kingsley Jonathan, DT Brandin Bryant, DT Prince Emili, DT C.J. Brewer, LB Joe Giles-Harris, DB Nick McLoud, DB Ja’Marcus Ingram

Released with an injury settlement: DT Eli Ankou

Placed on Reserve/PUP list: CB Tre’Davious White

*White will miss at least the first four games of the regular season. He is eligible to return in Week 5 against the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Placed on Reserve/Suspended list: LB Andre Smith

*Smith has been suspended six games for violating the NFL’s policy on performance-enhancing substances. He is eligible to return in Week 7, but Buffalo will be on a bye week, so he will likely return in Week 8 against the Green Bay Packers.

More roster moves will be coming as the Bills are still looking for a punter. Rookie Matt Araiza was released last week following a gang-rape lawsuit.