CDC: Cayuga, Seneca, and Wayne counties high risk for COVID transmission

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is recommending masks for nearly a dozen counties in Upstate New York. Three of them are located in the Finger Lakes.

Cayuga, Seneca, and Wayne counties were included in the most-recent update to ‘high’ risk locations, based on COVID-19 spread.

It’s an expansion from levels seen just a week ago- when Cayuga was the only local county included on the high risk list.

Other counties in the Finger Lakes and Central New York considered in ‘medium’ risk include Monroe, Ontario, Yates, Schuyler, and Tompkins counties.

There have been some calls from local residents to county and state officials to re-institute mask mandates. However, none have given any indication that such a move is on their radar.

What variant is causing this increase in cases?

Researchers say they are sub variants of the Omicron strain, which caused issues during the winter months.

The state’s health department says Central New York is the first region to see ‘significant’ community spread.

Hospitalizations have increased, but most facilities remain below levels that prompted concern last year.

Get the latest headlines delivered to your inbox each morning. Sign up for our Morning Edition to start your day. FL1 on the Go! Download the free App for Android (All Android Devices) or iOS (iPhone, iPad).