What is the 2022 Social Security payment schedule?

2022 brings Social Security recipients bigger payments thanks to the COLA increase. But when are they?

The schedule for payments in 2022 has been announced by the Social Security administration.

These payments will include the 5.9% increase, meaning the checks will be bigger than what recipients might be used to.

What day your birthday falls on determines which day you get paid.


Payments are made on the second, third, and fourth Wednesdays of each month.

Anyone with a birthday between the 1st and 10th can expect their payment the seconds Wednesday, birthdays landing on the 11th through 20th will be paid the third Wednesday, and anyone who’s birthday is after the 21st will get theirs the fourth Wednesday.

Social Security 2022 payment schedule

January 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: Jan. 12

Third Wednesday: Jan. 19

Fourth Wednesday: Jan. 26


Related: 5 increases that could lower COLA increase for Social Security payments

February 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: Feb. 9

Third Wednesday: Feb. 16

Fourth Wednesday: Feb. 23

March 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: March 9

Third Wednesday: March 16

Fourth Wednesday: March 23


Related: Will these Social Security changes impact you in 2022?

April 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: April 13

Third Wednesday: April 20

Fourth Wednesday: April 27

May 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: May 11

Third Wednesday: May 18

Fourth Wednesday: May 25

Related: When will Social Security and food stamps be paid during New Year’s?


June 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: June 8

Third Wednesday: June 15

Fourth Wednesday: June 22

July 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: July 13

Third Wednesday: July 20

Fourth Wednesday: July 27


Related: 5 biggest changes in 2022 for Social Security benefits

August 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: Aug. 10

Third Wednesday: Aug. 17

Fourth Wednesday: Aug. 24

September 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: Sept. 14

Third Wednesday: Sept. 21

Fourth Wednesday: Sept. 28


October 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: Oct. 12

Third Wednesday: Oct. 19

Fourth Wednesday: Oct. 26

November 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: Nov. 9

Third Wednesday: Nov. 16

Fourth Wednesday: Nov. 23

December 2022 payments

Second Wednesday: Dec. 14

Third Wednesday: Dec. 21

Fourth Wednesday: Dec. 28