Skip to content
Home » Valentine's Day » ELECTION RESULTS: Big changes in local politics after consequential day of voting across Finger Lakes

ELECTION RESULTS: Big changes in local politics after consequential day of voting across Finger Lakes

Looking to get caught up on elections from around the Finger Lakes? We have full-results below. Those will be updated as new numbers are released by county election offices.

Before you sift through results down there – here are a few of the biggest stories that came out of Election Day 2021 in the Finger Lakes.

Cayuga County

– Jon Budelmann defeats Ben Susman in the race for Cayuga County Surrogate Judge. This will create a vacancy in the District Attorney’s office there.

– Terry Cuddy and Ginny Kent, both Democrats, win two open seats on Auburn City Council. This means longtime City Councilor Timothy Lattimore, a Republican, is out of Cayuga County politics – for now.

– Christina Calarco, Elane Daly, and Brian Muldrow, all Democrats, won election to Cayuga County Legislature. Republicans James Basile, Mark Strong, and Robert Shea also won. The upset of the night was when incumbent Legislator Keith Batman, a Democrat for the 7th District, lost to Shea.

– The closest race of the night in Cayuga County took shape in the town of Sennett – as all four candidates there were separated by less than 20 votes.

Ontario County

– Incumbent Canandaigua Mayor Robert Palumbo, a Republican won another term leading the city. Democrats swept the city council race that unfolded there, too.

– Republican Jared Simpson defeated former Canandaigua Supervisor Sam Casella. Some expected this to be closer than it turned out on Election Day.

– Longtime Phelps Town Supervisor Norman Teed, the Republican, held off a strong challenge from Democrat Ryan Davis. Davis received the backing of Sen. Chuck Schumer, but it wasn’t enough to get another 150 votes, which is what it would have taken to win.

Schuyler County

– Kevin Ramsey, a Republican, will be the next sheriff in Schuyler. He received 2,843 votes on Election Day.

Seneca County

– Les Marquart will be the next treasurer in Seneca. It was the only countywide race on the ticket this year.

– Jenn Salone and Coreen Lowry, both Republicans, won a competitive race in the town of Fayette for spots on town council.

– Republicans swept in Seneca Falls, contests which were ultimately dominated by the future of the Town’s reliance on Seneca Meadows Landfill. Incumbent Democrats Doug Avery and Dave DeLelys were both defeated soundly by Republican challengers Frank Sinicropi and Kaitlyn Laskoski. Mike Rhinehart and Paul Kronenwetter also won at-large county supervisor seats in Seneca Falls.

– Incumbent Tyre Town Supervisor Ron McGreevy was unsuccessful in winning the general election after being defeated in the primary this past June. Beth Partee will take over leading the town in January.

– In Waterloo, Robert Shipley made his return to county politics – winning one of two seats open on the Seneca County Board Of Supervisors there. Michael Enslow will join him in the second seat representing Waterloo voters.

Wayne County

– The Board of Elections website still wasn’t updated as of midnight, but Republican Robert Milby said he secured nearly 9,000 votes, which was enough to defeat Steve MacNeal, who had unofficially received 4,670 votes.

– There were many other competitive races, but until Board of Elections posts those results – we cannot share them.

Yates County

– The race for Yates County Legislature District 3 was too close to call as of midnight. Daniel Branch, Carlie Chilson, Mark Morris, and Leslie Church were all close for a total of three seats that were open.



Click here if you’re having trouble viewing the tables below