Skip to content
Home » Chance The Rapper » Sabres announce protected list ahead of Seattle Expansion Draft

Sabres announce protected list ahead of Seattle Expansion Draft

The Buffalo Sabres have protected the following players from being selected by the Seattle Kraken in Wednesday’s NHL Expansion Draft:

Rasmus Asplund
Anders Bjork
Jack Eichel
Casey Mittelstadt
Victor Olofsson
Sam Reinhart
Tage Thompson

Rasmus Dahlin
Henri Jokiharju
Rasmus Ristolainen

Linus Ullmark

The 2021 NHL Expansion Draft presented by Upper Deck will be held July 21 at 8 p.m. on ESPN2. The Kraken will select one player from each team excluding the Vegas Golden Knights for a total of 30 (at least 14 forwards, nine defensemen and three goalies).

The following Sabres players have been made available to Seattle in the Expansion Draft:

Drake Caggiula
Jean-Sebastien Dea
Cody Eakin
Steven Fogarty
Zemgus Girgensons
Andrew Oglevie
Kyle Okposo
Tobias Rieder
Riley Sheahan
Jeff Skinner
C.J. Smith

Will Borgen
Brandon Davidson
Matt Irwin
Jake McCabe
Colin Miller
Casey Nelson

Michael Houser
Carter Hutton
Dustin Tokarski

All first- and second-year professionals, as well as all unsigned draft choices, are exempt from selection (and have not been counted toward their club’s applicable protection limits).

Current NHL teams could protect seven forwards, three defensemen and one goalie, or eight skaters (forwards/defensemen) and one goalie, under certain conditions.

Full Expansion Draft rules can be found here.