Skip to content
Home » Chance The Rapper » Former Syracuse football greats Marvin Harrison, Dwight Freeney on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Former Syracuse football greats Marvin Harrison, Dwight Freeney on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

A pair of Orange legends are on the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot, which was released on Wednesday.

Dwight Freeney and Marvin Harrison are both among the 78 players from FBS institutions who are appearing on this year’s ballot. It’s Harrison’s fourth time on the ballot and the second-straight year Freeney has been included. The Orange currently boast 18 College Football Hall of Fame members, second-most among ACC schools.

Freeney was a unanimous First Team All-American in 2001 and holds the NCAA record for career sacks per game (1.61). The 2001 BIG EAST co-Defensive Player of the Year, he finished his career as the league’s all-time leader in single season sacks (17.5) after a remarkable senior campaign. He is still Syracuse’s record holder with 50.5 tackles for loss.

The Connecticut native was selected 11th overall in the 2002 NFL Draft, where he went on to a 16-year NFL career, making seven Pro Bowls and winning Super Bowl XLI with the Indianapolis Colts. The first defensive player inducted into the Colts Ring of Honor, Freeney ranks 18th in NFL history with 125.5 career sacks.

Harrison was a First Team All-American in 1995 as a kick returner and was the BIG EAST Special Teams Player of the Year. He left Syracuse ranked third in program history with 135 career receptions, second in touchdowns (22), second in yards (2,728) and was the first Syracuse player to average over 100 yards receiving per game in a single season (102.8 in 1995).

He then went on to a Hall of Fame career in the NFL, making eight Pro Bowls. He is fifth all time with 128 receiving touchdowns and 1,102 catches. He also ranks ninth in NFL history with 14,580 receiving yards. He was enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2016.

College Football Hall of Fame Ballots were distributed today to National Football Foundation members and current hall of famers to select the class. Selections will be announced in early 2022, with the inductees officially set to be enshrined during the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, 2022.