Skip to content
Auburn Auto Group (banner)
Home » Sports » Professional » New York Mets » Mets’ Jacob deGrom wins 2019 NL Cy Young award

Mets’ Jacob deGrom wins 2019 NL Cy Young award

Mets ace Jacob deGrom followed up his historic 2018 with a brilliant 2019, and the result is another Cy Young award.

DeGrom received 29 of the 30 first-place votes to dominate his fellow finalists in Max Scherzer and Hyun-Jin Ryu (received one first-place vote) for the award, which was announced Wednesday night, making deGrom the first Mets pitcher ever to win the award in back-to-back seasons.

Mets' Jacob deGrom (Treated Image by SNY)

DeGrom joins Tom Seaver (1969, 1973, 1975) as the only Met to win the Cy Young more than once. Other Mets to win the award are R.A. Dickey (2012), and Dwight Gooden (1985).

After an uneven start to the 2019 season, deGrom recaptured his dominance beginning on May 1, allowing two earned runs or fewer in 23 of his final 27 starts, including a string of three straight scoreless starts over 21 IP to round out his season.