Skip to content
Home » Life » Events » 13WHAM Anchor Ginny Ryan will be awarded ‘Keeper of the Flame’ at SF Women’s HOF

13WHAM Anchor Ginny Ryan will be awarded ‘Keeper of the Flame’ at SF Women’s HOF

In celebration of the 100th year anniversary of Women’s Right to Vote in NY, The National Women’s Hall of Fame will host a weekend celebrating the achievements of

American Women in the birthplace of the Women’s Rights movement in the U.S. In addition to the induction of eleven women into the National Women’s Hall of Fame, Fox Rochester news anchor, Ginny Ryan will be awarded “Keeper of the Flame”. Recipients of this award are recognized for carrying the torch of our foremothers and for inspiring present and future generations.

Ryan is an Athena Award nominee by the Women’s Council of Rochester and recipient of the Professional Achievement award from the Victor Chamber of Commerce. She has served on the boards of Visiting Nurse Service, Heritage Christian Services Foundation, CMAC, and Ronald McDonald House Charities of Rochester. In 1987, Ryan was hired as a news reporter by 13WHAM for the job she always wanted to do, where she wanted to do it, in her hometown. Since 1991, she has anchored 13WHAM at 5 with Doug Emblidge and 13WHAM at 11 with Don Alhart. In 2012, she become anchor of 13WHAM at 10pm on Fox Rochester. In 2018, she and Doug Emblidge were inducted as a team into the New York State Broadcasting Hall of Fame.

Ryan will be honored at the luncheon which will precede the biennial induction ceremony on September 14, 2019 at the magnificent del Lago Resort & Casino, located outside of Seneca Falls, NY.

The 2019 inductees* were nominated by the public, judged by an interdisciplinary team of experts across the nominees’ fields, and selected for their invaluable contributions to American Society in the areas of the arts, athletics, business, education, government, humanities, philanthropy, and science.

The 2019 National Women’s Hall of Fame inductees are:

Gloria Allred, Attorney and Activist

Angela Davis, Professor and Activist

Sarah Deer, Professor, Lawyer and Advocate

Jane Fonda, Actress and Activist

Nicole Malachowski, U.S.A.F. Ret. And Activist

Rose O’Neill, Artist and Activist

Louise Slaughter, Former U.S. Congress member, Advocate

Sonia Sotomayor, U.S. Supreme Court Justice

Laurie Spiegel, Composer

Diane von Furstenberg, Fashion Designer and Philanthropist

Flossie Wong-Staal, Biologist.

The National Women’s Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 and is the nation’s oldest membership organization and museum dedicated to honoring and celebrating the achievements of distinguished American women. In pursuit of its mission of “Showcasing Great Women…Inspiring All,” the National Women’s Hall of Fame honors the women of the past, relates the history of women’s struggles, prepares the women of the future and serves as the voice celebrating the value of women.

Situated in Seneca Falls, NY, the birthplace of women’s rights, the Hall tells women’s stories by focusing on the leadership lessons from its inductees throughout American history. The Hall is in the process of revitalizing the former Seneca Knitting Mill as its new home with the plan to create a vibrant, state-of-the-art facility serving as a leadership center and an educational venue where visitors can discover and be inspired by the stories of great American women. More information about the 2019 inductees.

To have the latest updates, information, and headlines delivered to your smartphone or tablet – download the App for Android and iOS. Follow the links below to download the app now! Android (All Android Devices) iOS (iPhone, iPad)