Skip to content

Aurora Mayor Bennett re-elected, plus Cayuga County-area results

The meeting room in Aurora's firehouse was somber as election results were called out after all the votes had been counted, and Bonnie Apgar Bennett was welcomed into her third term as village mayor.

Of the 127 ballots cast on Tuesday, as well as absentee votes, Bennett received 86 votes, Marie Dentes received 49 and Barb Blom received eight. Incumbent Trustee Grace Bates was re-elected with 86 votes, and newcomer Matt Bianconi was elected with 85 votes. Incumbent Trustee and Deputy Mayor Janet Murphy lost her trustee seat with 69 votes.

Bennett said that she felt "fine" after the elections, and that she is "looking forward to" and "happy to get back to work after campaigning" for weeks leading up to the election. "I'm sad I lost my deputy mayor," Bennett said, addind she was "very surprised" Murphy was not re-elected.

The Citizen:
Read More